Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Strollin With My Homies

Leave a comment

For those of you that don’t know me, I’m gong to give you a bit of background info on me. I’ve always struggled with my weight. I’ve always been short and fat, except when I was cheering in high school, my freshman year in college, and in 2011, before I got married. Even at those times, I wasn’t a size 2 or 4. I was still curvy,and if I had one wish, I would wish to be thin! When I was pregnant with Weston, I didn’t gain any weight until I was 31 weeks pregnant, and I was put on permanent bed rest in the hospital for the remainder of my pregnancy. During Weston’s last 6 weeks of gestation, I gained 35 pounds and was left with absolutely no energy (due to doing nothing for 6 weeks) and a completely dead metabolism. Needless to say, losing the weight following this pregnancy has truly taken its toll on me, and I’m not happy with the way I look or feel, and I’m determined to change it!
I say all of that because 3 weeks ago, I began walking 5 mornings a week from my house down to the football stadium and around the perimeter of the parking lot then back to my house. My first week, I could only do 1 lap around the stadium parking lot, but I’ve worked my way up to 4 laps, which is a little over 4 miles. Before I got married, I had truly fallen in love with running, and I had even done a few 5Ks. The stroller I had was not conducive to fast-pace walking or running, but a local consignment shop had a Baby Trend Expedition jogging stroller marked for $100. I took some items that Weston had outgrown, and she gave me an even trade! I’m SO pumped! This stroller retails new for close to $300! The one I got couldn’t have been used 3 times, but I’m going to remedy that! I can’t wait to begin running again!

20130709-203812.jpg
I will definitely keep you all updated on my weight-loss progress. It certainly isn’t easy, but I want to look better for my husband, my kids, as well as for myself, and I want to feel better also! I can’t wait to go strollin with my little homies!!!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

