Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Look Out Martha Stuart

Leave a comment

October 16,2013, is rapidly approaching, and I’ve brainstormed ideas for Weston’s first birthday. Well, I’ve decided on a costume party. Every kid loves playing dress up, and parents enjoy getting more than one use out of a Halloween costume, plus most of the kids coming to Weston’s party are older than one, so a costume party was a no-brainer! We are going to have games, balloon animals, face painting, and of course spooky cupcakes! Well, I went to the party store looking for some invitations, but I couldn’t find any that didn’t look cheesy, so I decided to make my own. This would have been far too involved if I were sending out more than 6 invitations, but let’s face it, he’s one and won’t remember any of it! I did a lot of scrapbooking for Banks when he was little, but, of course, that goes out the window with the second child, so I had tons of materials and just made my own invitations.

20130917-083626.jpg
I cut 6×6 squares of a solid piece of paper, cut a patterned paper with pinking shears to desired size, and another solid square with pinking shears to desired size. I merely used adhesive strips to attach them to one another. I then poked 2 holes just off of the center, threaded some 12 inch pieces of ribbon through the holes, tied a bow, and trimmed the ends of the ribbon. To finish the invitations off, I merely wrote on the solid square all the pertinent information about the party (date, time, and location) and done! EASY, EASY, EASY!
After realizing I would need larger envelopes to mail the invites, I looked at many different craft stores, and I couldn’t find any envelopes in any color other than boring white! That’s when I decided to also use scrapbooking paper to make my own envelopes.

20130917-084533.jpg
The envelope pictured, I wasn’t planning on mailing because the family members live here in town, but the other 5 envelopes were mailed. In order to make these fun envelopes, you turn your piece of paper at an angle so that it looks like a diamond, place the invitation in the middle, begin by folding the sides over the top of the invitation, then fold the paper up from the bottom, and I like to fold the bottom point under just to give it a straight edge, and finally fold the top flap down over the invitation. Seal it closed with an oversized, super cute sticker, and there you have it! Be advised that due to the odd size of these invitations, it cost me 2 stamps per invitation to mail them, but $5.00 spent on invitations is far less than custom invitations or even store bought invitations.
You can also use your scrapbooking paper to make Thank You cards and envelopes or just notecards and envelopes. These make EXCELLENT teacher gifts, birthday gifts, or a just because gift for grandparents. You know how old people love to write letters! So get those creative juices flowing and tell Martha Stuart to step aside!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

