Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Food, Friends, Family, and Football

1 Comment

Down here in South Alabama, Autumn weather is preceded by the start of football season. Saturdays, in my family, include cleaning the house for a group of friends to come over to spend the remainder of the afternoon/evening watching football. I cheer for the Crimson Tide, and my husband cheers for Auburn. Although we don’t agree on football teams, one thing we do agree on is football food! Most of my morning is spent in the kitchen on game day, and I love it! Every Saturday we have boiled peanuts.

20130925-094622.jpg

Nothing is easier than boiling peanuts. Wash them first to remove any residual residue from the peanut fields then put them in a large pot with 1/2 cup of sea salt and cover the peanuts with water. When they come to a rapid boil, turn the stove down to medium, cover the pot with a lid, and let them cook for 2-3 hours stirring occasionally. PERFECTION!

Sometimes I add new recipes that I find to our game day menu, but the key to game day food is it has to feed plenty of people! This weekend I added chicken and cheese nachos to the menu. SUPER easy, and my husband said, “Honey, these taste like the nachos from La Parilla.” That was a huge compliment! It’s a crockpot recipe so that makes it even better. I began by washing 2lbs of organic chicken breast cutlets and placing them in the bottom of the crockpot. To season the chicken, I used salt, cumin, cayenne pepper, and garlic. You can season to taste. We like things a bit more spicy, so I went a bit heavy on the cayenne pepper. I then diced half of a Vidalia onion and 1 cup of tomatoes and poured that on top of the seasoned chicken breast. Following the vegetables, I poured 1 cup of organic salsa in the pot. I can’t make salsa any better than the Publix brand organic salsa. It’s delicious! Lastly, pour 1/2 cup of water in the pot and cook on low for 6-8 hours. When it’s cooked thoroughly, pull chicken apart with a fork and load up over a plate full of organic tortilla chips and sprinkle some grated cheese on the chicken nachos and top with a scoop of homemade guacamole. Delicious is an understatement.

20130925-100256.jpg

For dessert, I made Pumpkin Pie Dip. It was also very tasty, but I think next time I make it, I will revise the recipe a bit. You mix 1 can (15oz) pumpkin purée with 6oz vanilla Greek yogurt and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. Mix those well and then add 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/4 tsp ginger, 1/4 tsp nutmeg, and 1/2 tsp all spice. Mix those well and lastly fold in 4 oz of whipped cream. Refrigerate for at least 1 hour and serve with cinnamon/sugar pita chips. This is the original recipe. Next time I make it, I’m going to substitute a bar of softened cream cheese for the whipped cream. Let me also add that the Stacy’s cinnamon/sugar pita chips were great! They held up well with the heavy dip and didn’t become soggy. This is a great dip, but it just needed cream cheese instead of whipped cream.
I mean cream cheese makes everything better!

20130925-101635.jpg

This weekend the temperature is supposed to drop a bit so I’m planning on sticking with my usual boiled peanuts, but I’m going to make a pot of chili for the meal followed by pumpkin spice cookies with homemade cream cheese icing for dessert. Y’all have a great weekend and as always ROLL TIDE ROLL!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

One thought on “Food, Friends, Family, and Football

  1. Pingback: Healthy Football Snacks | Dugouts and Diapers

Leave a Reply

