Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Happy Birthday Weston

Leave a comment

Well, he’s one! This year went by so fast! The party was a success, and the weather was fantastic! I asked all the kids coming to the party to dress up so that all the moms got more than 1 use out of their Halloween costumes, and all kids LOVE to play dress up. Weston was a cow, and quite possibly, the cutest cow EVER!

20131020-210909.jpg
The party was from 2-4pm which is a great time because it’s after nap time and after lunch so you, as the host, don’t have to provide as much food for the guests. It’s a great way to cut down on costs. The only food and beverage I provided was boiled peanuts, spider cupcakes, and Witch’s Brew Punch. I boiled 2 gallons of peanuts with 1 and 1/2 cups of salt for 5 hours the day before and just warmed them up on the stove over medium heat the morning of the party. Super easy and absolutely delicious. The spider cupcakes turned out great, and all the kids LOVED them (the adults did too)! The step-by-step instructions for the cupcakes are found on my previous post.

20131020-211801.jpg
The real hit of the food and beverages was the Witch’s Brew Punch! It was green, gooey, and delicious! It is SUPER easy to mix up. I used 1 whole bottle of Simply Limeade, a 2 liter of ginger ale, and a half gallon of lime sherbet. Put the sherbet in the punch bowl first to prevent sloshing!

20131020-212250.jpg
The accessories to the punch are what makes it fantastic! I placed gummy worms on the edge of the bowl and in the green, gooey center. I also filled 2 non-latex gloves(you never know who might have a latex allergy at the party) that I took from my children’s pediatrician office with water mixed with red food coloring and tied a knot in the gloves to keep the water from leaking out and froze them for 2 days. On the day of the party, I cut the end of the glove and peeled it off the frozen hand and used it as ice in the Witch’s Brew! It’s sooooooooo creepy! It looks exactly like a severed hand floating amongst the green goo!

20131020-212933.jpg

20131020-213123.jpg
The most important thing to the children at any kid’s party is the goodie bag. Well, I knew that with Halloween just around the corner, kids would be receiving TONS of candy, so I wanted to do something a little bit different. I found 4 plastic cups for $1 at The Dollar Tree so I did goodie cups filled with yummy, nutritious treats for the kiddos. I made homemade, organic granola bars and put 1 in each cup along with a bag of homemade, organic pumpkin cookies, and a Cutie orange, which I colored with a black marker to look like a jack-o-lantern. It was cheap, easy, nutritious, and useful! It’s definitely an idea that I will continue to use in the future!

20131020-213909.jpg
Many birthday parties can become stressful and overwhelming, but the important thing is to think about how to cut the cost, have fun, be creative, and make it memorable. I understand that Weston won’t remember his first birthday party, but everyone else had a great time, and it didn’t cost but just under $40! You can’t hardly purchase a cake for that amount these days! Go to The Dollar Tree for all your party supply needs! I purchased the bowl for the Witch’s Brew for $1, and after the party, I washed it, and I’m going to use it again for all my candy for my trick or treaters on Halloween! Don’t go broke on your child’s birthday party! They will have fun whether you spend $40 or $400! Now that the party is over, it’s time to detox from all the sugar and prepare for all the holidays that are rapidly approaching. I have some excellent, healthy recipes coming your way as well as some gift wrapping and decorating ideas. So come back next week for something FABULOUS!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

