Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

Leave a comment

There is absolutely no one on the face of the earth that loves Christmas as much as I do! I love all that it entails…fellowship with family and friends, Christmas carols, decorating your house (inside and out), wrapping gifts, shopping, baking treats, The Nutcracker ballet, picking out the family tree, the smell of the tree, and most importantly, celebrating the humble birth of my sweet Savior who saw fit to come to earth for a dirty, rotten sinner like me. I do deserve most of the gifts I receive at Christmas, but I don’t deserve the gift He gave….His life.

Speaking of gifts, I make a list of everyone that we need to buy for, and my precious husband lets me know how much I can spend. Since I’m not working, I’ve been getting crafty, as you can tell from my previous posts. As I drive up and down streets in all parts of town, I see houses with their last initial hanging on the door, and it’s adorable! I found a store that sales them, and I was blown away that she was charging $45 for these bad boys! I walked out and headed to the craft store. I bought my sweet friend the letter “L”, some spray paint, an art kit with primary colors, and some ribbon. She had told me earlier in the week that she had nothing to hang on her door for Christmas, so my mission was to remedy that! My belief is all doors, windows, etc should be decorated at this glorious time of year.

20131201-211038.jpg

I began by laying the wooden “L” on a garbage bag in the backyard and spray painted it green. I waited 30 minutes and applied a second coat of paint. While waiting for the paint to dry, I went ahead and tied my bow. For those that don’t know how to tie a bow, it’s simple. Begin by making a small circle with the ribbon and hold it with your thumb and forefinger. Make a loop on one side, twist the ribbon under your thumb, and make another loop. Continue looping and twisting the ribbon until it reaches your desired size then bind it with a pipe cleaner. Spread the loops out to look like a bow and cut and tie a length of ribbon around the center to make the streamers.

20131201-211754.jpg

Once the second coat of paint is dry, bring it inside and begin painting large white polka dots strategically throughout the letter with basic white craft paint. I added small red dots around the circumference of the larger white dots using basic red craft paint and the end of a small paintbrush. EASY!

20131201-212112.jpg

I let the polka dots dry for a good hour or two. Once dry, I used a hot glue gun to attach the bow to the bottom corner as well as a strand of ribbon to the back for hanging the letter. I added a staple on the back just for reinforcement due to the possibility of strong wind or storm. The finished product was beautiful and cost less than $10 to make! So if you pay $45, you’re getting ripped off!

My friend loved it so much, and I felt so proud that I have decided to offer my services this Christmas season. I will be selling letters for $25 as opposed to the competitors $45 price tag. Orders can be placed by e-mailing me at jsleverette@gmail.com. If you’re interested, please include desired colors, design, and what letter you’re requesting. These will make excellent teacher gifts, friend gifts, secret Santa gifts, or buy yourself a little treasure. If you don’t want to purchase one, have an awesome time making your own. It’s a GREAT project!

20131201-213314.jpg

20131201-213328.jpg

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

