Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Dust, Vacuum,Scrub Bathrooms, and Repeat Every Week

Leave a comment

My phone rang this morning, and it was friend, and she asked me what my plans were for today, and I told her that since I did all the laundry yesterday, I would iron clothes and clean house today. Her response was, “my goodness, Jess, you clean all the time. How do you afford to buy cleaning products so often? They’re expensive.” I then proceeded to tell her that I do clean my house every week, which includes: dusting, vacuuming, scrubbing bathrooms, and cleaning the glass. Only once a month do I polish the wood furniture and clean the baseboards in my house. I agree with my friend that household cleaning products are expensive, especially when I go through a bottle of bathroom cleaner in 3 weeks, but the secret to affordability is making your own household cleaners. I make my own bathroom cleaner, which I also use for the kitchen cabinets and stovetop, and I make my own glass cleaner. I purchase furniture polish, because I think Pledge does an amazing job, and since I only polish my furniture once a month, 1 can of Pledge will last me a couple of months.

I’m going to share with you my recipe for the cleaners that I make myself. For my bathroom cleaner, I just recycled an empty Windex bottle and placed a new label on it. You could also purchase a new squirt bottle from the dollar store if you want too. Here’s the recipe for the best bathroom cleaner ever!

8oz. Distilled white vinegar
4oz. Lemon juice (I use the juice of 2 fresh lemons because they are free from my neighbor’s tree)
2oz liquid soap
2tsp baking soda
10oz water

Mix all of these ingredients in the bottle. Your bathrooms will shine and sparkle, and these are ingredients that most people already have in their home. OH, and it smells sooooooo clean and fresh!

20131219-100407.jpg

Now let’s move onto the homemade glass cleaner. Talk about cheap and easy….here it is!

Distilled White Vinegar
Rubbing Alcohol
Water

Simply mix equal parts of these three ingredients in the spray bottle of your choice. I’m not kidding. That’s all there is to it!

20131219-101030.jpg

Next time you have bathroom or glass cleaner on your shopping list, just save yourself some money and make your own. Remember cleanliness is next to Godliness, and men LOVE a clean house. So let your husband know that you love and appreciate him by allowing him to come home to a clean house. Happy cleaning everyone!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

