Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Chicken Salad With Avocado and Lime Oh My!

1 Comment

As I have embarked on this journey to lose 100 lbs in 2014, I find myself counting every calorie that I ingest. One of my most favorite go-to recipes is chicken salad. My husband enjoys it on homemade bread while my children and I enjoy it with the Cracked Pepper and Olive Oil Triscuit crackers. Using mayonnaise in chicken salad adds nearly 400 calories, and when you’re trying to keep your calorie intake between 1500-1800 calories per day, that’s simply a setback! I was researching all-natural alternatives to mayonnaise, and I stumbled across substituting an avocado and the juice of a lime. I decided to give it a try, and the end result is phenomenal!

Ingredients:
2 organic chicken breasts
1-2 avocados (it really depends on how much you like avocado)
1 lime
1 organic Granny Smith apple
Salt and pepper to taste

Begin by either boiling or grilling your chicken breast. I like to grill mine because 1. The taste is better and 2. Less cleanup! While the chicken is cooking, cut an avocado and place it in a large bowl. Add the juice of a lime then mash it up until smooth. You can use the back of a spoon, which I find extremely daunting, so I used a potato masher.

20140222-085510.jpg

Once the avocado and lime mixture is smooth, cut an organic Granny Smith apple into small pieces and add it to the avocado mixture.

20140222-085622.jpg

Shred your chicken either by hand or using a food processor. I choose to use my hands because, once again, it’s less cleanup. Add the chicken to the avocado, lime juice, and apple mixture and stir until well blended. I chose to add a second avocado because we love avocado. Finally, add your salt and pepper to taste and mix well. Cover your bowl of chicken salad and let it chill in the refrigerator for a couple of hours or even overnight.

20140222-090025.jpg

The finished product is so delightful and refreshing filled with the super food, avocado, and the Granny Smith apple adds that something special when mixed with the lime juice and chicken. So my usual 400 calorie serving of chicken salad and crackers was cut down to roughly 140 calories by simply doing a little research and making some better choices. In the end, this chicken salad was the best I’ve ever had, and I will never use mayonnaise to make chicken salad again!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

One thought on “Chicken Salad With Avocado and Lime Oh My!

  1. Sounds wonderful! Like your photos!

Leave a Reply

