Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Got Almond Milk?

1 Comment

Almond milk….the latest trend for those seeking to cut calories, retain the sweet taste associated with whole milk, and not worry about the harmful effects of high temperature pasteurization of cow’s milk. Its vanilla-flavored goodness is soooooooo delicious, but why is it so expensive??? It’s expensive because it’s the newest trend, and it’s good for you. So why not make your own? It’s extremely easy! I began making my own almond milk a few months ago, and I can make two gallons of homemade almond milk for what one half gallon costs at the grocery store. Here’s how!
IMG_0549.JPG

You want to begin by soaking one cup of almonds in two cups of water. Allow them to soak overnight. The following morning, drain off the water and combine the almonds with eight cups of water in a blender for five minutes. I combine those ingredients in a large mixing bowl and use my immersion blender, simply because I do not have a countertop blender. It does the job.

IMG_1499.JPG

Next comes the tricky part…..I line a fine, mesh strainer with coffee filters, and I place it over another large mixing bowl. Pour all of your blended mixture over the coffee filters and allow it to filter all the milk into the bowl while the coffee filters catch all of the almond pieces. This process takes at least 5-10 minutes, so I encourage you to load or unload the dishwasher while you’re waiting. Don’t be impatient and don’t try and push the mixture through. The coffee filters will tear, and you will have to start all over again. I’m speaking from experience!

IMG_1498.JPG

Once the mixture has completed the filtering process, simply pour it into your pitcher of choice, add one heaping tablespoon of raw, unprocessed honey, and stir. At this point, you can also add vanilla extract if you like. I choose not to, because we enjoy it with simply the honey flavor, and pure vanilla extract is expensive! This recipe yields one half gallon of almond milk, and it will keep in your refrigerator for seven days. Ours never lasts that long. My children love it, and I use it to make my husband and myself protein shakes every morning.

I hope you will try this recipe, and I know you will enjoy it. Why not save yourself a little money and enjoy the satisfaction that comes from taking pieces of God’s creation and making some delicious almond milk. Which brings me to the question….did the Israelites in Exodus 33 make their own almond milk? They certainly had all the ingredients awaiting them in the promised land. They grumbled so much, I truly doubt it, but here’s your chance…..make some homemade almond milk and enjoy it!

IMG_0551.PNG

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

One thought on “Got Almond Milk?

  1. Love almond milk! I use it every morning in my shake. Thanks for the clear easy to follow directions.

Leave a Reply

