Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Heaven on Earth

Leave a comment

Every woman knows that her favorite days of the year are hair days! What are hair days? They are the days when you spend a glorious two to three childless, uninterrupted hours at the hair salon. For that period of time, nothing else matters. No one is pulling at the hem of your garments begging for your attention, and the way you feel when you leave is unparalleled! You leave feeling like a model, and the sidewalk is your runway!

When you have spent 32 years of life with chaotic, curly, red hair (now a touch of blonde to blend in with the grey), you live for these hair days. I could walk out of the salon in my pjs and house slippers, but I would feel like I look like this….
IMG_0507.PNG

This hair day is a first for me. I’m cutting my hair short. The question has been, “Why would you cut off all those beautiful curls?” Well, the answer is, I’ve spent this entire year trying to improve myself both inwardly as well as outwardly, and everyday but Sunday, I either pull my hair up in a ponytail, or I twist it up in a bun. I know I’ve lost weight and am wearing smaller clothes, but I don’t feel beautiful. When your hair has been your best asset your entire life, why not fix it everyday? I’m getting it cut short so that I don’t have a choice except to fix it everyday, and if my hair is fixed, I will want to fix my makeup everyday, and hopefully what I see in the mirror will translate to my brain and heart. Now, don’t think for one minute that I don’t know how valuable I am. Honey, I’m priceless! God tells me so! I just need to take the time to take care of myself everyday.

IMG_0508.JPG

First comes the most tedious part of the day…the color. This is what keeps me from looking 60 at 32. Why not look as young as you feel? I know that grey hair represents wisdom, but look, I would be intimidating everyone in my path with all my wisdom that would be showing if I didn’t color my hair! Hahahaha! Thankfully, my lovely locks are entrusted to Rexanne, who is the kindest, happiest, and all around greatest hairstylist in town. I haven’t always used Rexy, but after some conviction about where the money God had entrusted me with was going with my former stylist, I began seeing Rexy, and I couldn’t be more pleased. She is a stylist at Chapman Green Salon here in Dothan, and the entire salon is a breath of fresh air. You walk in and hear the Christian music playing, all the stylists look like Pantene Pro V models, and the girl that washes your hair is a miracle worker. I literally almost fall asleep every time she starts scrubbing and massaging my scalp.

After all color, letting it set, and getting shampooed, next comes the cut and style portion of this heavenly experience. Thankfully, Rexy didn’t let me walk away with a mullet, so we didn’t go quite as short as originally planned, but I absolutely love my color and cut, and mission accomplished, I feel beautiful!!!!! I am so thankful for my hair days, therefore when you’re feeling gross or like a big tub of goo, schedule a hair day. It makes all the difference in the world!

IMG_0509.JPG

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

