Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Cooking Day With My Friend

1 Comment

What is life without true friends? My childhood friend, Will, married the most wonderful girl from Texas, and when he moved her here to sweet home Alabama, we became fast friends. She’s a precious soul with the most empathetic and beautiful heart. She’s an amazing mommy to two boys, just like me, and I never knew just how much her friendship would mean to me. She came up with the greatest idea…..a cooking day! She would bring all the ingredients and the recipe for her dish, and I would provide the ingredients and recipe for my dish, and we would half the food and swap recipes. It was a blast! I forewarn you, her recipe totally trumps mine, but they are both completely organic and delicious!
IMG_0580.PNG
My recipe literally takes about 15 minutes, but it’s great for when you’re craving comfort food but don’t want to spend hours in the kitchen. It really has no name, because I honestly just made it up one day, but it’s an organic take on chicken and rice. Begin by seasoning two organic chicken breasts with salt, pepper, and fresh garlic and grill them for 7 minutes on each side over low heat (my grill reaches approximately 500 degrees on low heat).

IMG_0578.JPG
While your chicken is grilling, you can prepare your brown rice and quinoa. Huge props to my local SAMs Club for now selling this amazing product! It’s so easy to prepare and absolutely delicious! I heat up two bags of the brown rice and quinoa and pour them into a greased 9×13 glass pan. After the chicken is finished grilling, I tear it into pieces with two forks and add it to the brown rice and quinoa. Pour a can of cream of chicken soup on top and mix the brown rice, quinoa, chicken, and soup throughly. Lastly, top the casserole with shredded cheese and pop it in the oven at 350 degrees until the cheese is melted. You could prepare this at night for the following day and just let it hang out in the fridge while you’re at work. Super easy and super yummy.

IMG_0581.PNG
Amy made burritos. Now, I’m not talking about a Taco Bell dinner kit! She hand-rolled the tortillas and everything! I honestly have no idea what recipe she used for her tortillas, but I’m certain you can find a million recipes online and simply substitute organic flour and ingredients, and your tortillas will turn out just as amazing as Amy’s. I will tell you that she rolled each one until it was a paper like thinness. While she was rolling, I was preparing a tomato sauce and browning a pound of organic ground beef and sautéed onions. The tomato sauce is a thick sauce. It’s basically hot oil, homemade taco seasoning, a little flour, a can of tomato paste, and water. You simply stir everything together over medium heat and add water until you reach the right thickness. It will coat the back of a wooden spoon. After the sauce is ready, add it to the ground beef and onions and mix well. Amy cooked her tortillas on a griddle over medium heat for about 1 minute per side. She made sure to wipe her griddle and butter it between each tortilla. After the tortillas are cooked, fill them with the meat mixture, refried beans, and top with shredded cheese. Her recipe made 16 burritos, and you could store these in individual Ziploc bags and freeze them for a great lunchbox idea, or you can do like we did and eat them for lunch and supper! Banks ate three of them yesterday afternoon and raved about them the rest of the night!

IMG_0582.JPG
While the food was amazing, and it was super fun to spend all day in the kitchen cooking, the best part of yesterday was the time spent with my precious friend. I’m so thankful for all of my friends, and I hope you guys will plan a cooking day with your dear friends. Friends are precious, and true friends are rare, so be kind to your friends and pray for them and ask them to pray for you. Friends make everything better!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

One thought on “Cooking Day With My Friend

  1. Awesome blog post Jessica!

Leave a Reply

