Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Things of Quality Have no Fear of Time

Leave a comment

I apologize for my absence in the last two weeks. Life has been crazy! We took Banks to Huntsville for his yearly checkup with his pediatric neurologist concerning his seizure activity, or lack thereof. Praise Jehovah Rapha, the God that heals, Banks has been seizure free for thirty months! We will return in May, which will be three years seizure-free, and his doctor will take him off of his medicine. While we were up North, we spent the weekend with my father-in-law and mother-in-law. It was wonderful! If you are ever up that way during the fall, please take the time to go visit a place called Gullion Farms! It is a beautiful farm settled in the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains. You pay $10/person to get in, but included in the $10 is a horse-drawn carriage ride, hay bale maze, milking a cow, fishing, pony or horse rides, etc. We had a blast, and Adam and I have decided that we will be making that an annual event for our family.
IMG_0583.PNG
When we came home, I was sick! I have coughed and coughed and coughed for two weeks! I truly did not have time to get sick! My home does not function when I’m down for the count. After taking a tablespoon of honey everyday and drinking fresh orange and grapefruit juice and a gallon of water everyday, I began to feel better after about three days. Of course, I had to hit the ground running once my energy returned, because I had missed two days of chores, which is like trying to fit 48 hours of chores into a 24 hour time period. Somehow, it all got done, and no one had to wear dirty clothes or eat leftovers for more a day. Taking those two days to recuperate made me all the more thankful for a great God that designed our bodies to heal themselves with the help of the things He created in nature as well as modern medicine when needed.

IMG_0584.PNG
This past weekend we dog sat my niece Tatum. She is the best dog! She is better behaved than most humans I know, and while the boys enjoyed having her stay with us, it was also a reassurance that we do not need a dog, because I would be the one to take care of it, and let’s face it….I have enough to take care of. Tatum is always welcome at our house anytime.

IMG_0585.PNG
On Sunday afternoon, we had our church’s annual Trunk or Treat at Aplin Farms. We had an awesome time of worship around a bonfire with our church family, and our pastor brought a beautiful message about the Son who gave us light and is The Light. There were people from our congregation ranging from newborn baby to my 91 year old friend, Mr. Clarence Sample. I will have to write an entire post sometime about just how much I love my church family. They are the best around! I decorated my trunk, and in all honesty, I could have been much more creative, but in the interest of saving money as well as how chaotic the past couple of weeks have been, I simply loaded up my front porch decorations and arranged them on a quilt my great grandmother gave me when I was a teenager and BAM….I was ready for trunk or treat!

IMG_0586.PNG
Adam’s company has officially hit their busy season in full force. Although our time together as a family is scarce, we truly try to make the most of the moments that we do have together. I am thankful for the reassurance of an eternity that we will get to spend together, and on days when I miss him terribly, I am reminded that this life is just temporary, and we are so incredibly thankful for his job with this great company. Adam had a Halloween-themed catering for The Dothan Eagle this weekend, and he needed an extra hand, so we made it a date. Weston was napping, and Banks was watching football, and it was the best “date” we have had in a long time! I like to consider myself a pretty crafty gal, so I was a great help to him on this project. It was also a realization that time spent with someone special is what you make of it. These few hours filled the void that had been lost during his 70+ hours of work last week. I am also daily reminded that I’m more in love with him today than I was the day we got married! He’s the best! I am so thankful God knew how much Banks and I needed him!

IMG_0587.PNG
As we approach my favorite holidays, I always look forward to the food, the baking, the parties, the shopping, the lights, the large blowup yard ornaments, the Christmas trees, the music, the movies, the scents of the holidays, but mostly I look forward to the irreplaceable time I get to spend with my friends and family. I challenge you to take the time this year to enjoy the time with those you love. Even if it is just merely minutes a day, make the most of it, and let them know that they are loved. Sure, chores, errands, work, parties, and the hustle and bustle is exhausting, but step back and look at the big picture. We are called to love and time is fleeting. Make the most of what you are given.

How do you and your family make the most of the time you have together?
What are some of your favorite things to do together?

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

