Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

He Equips the Called

1 Comment

There’s a beautiful area North of Nashville called Cumberland Furnace, Tennessee. This was where my grandfather grew up and where his body is now buried. One of the most important things to him was education, and both he and Cumberland Furnace serve as inspiration for my newest journey.

   
 
As many of you know, Banks attends an amazing school, but amazing schools are generally associated with amazingly expensive tuitions. When Adam and I realized that we wouldn’t be able to afford tuition for two children, I began praying about where to send Weston to school until Banks graduates in 2020. After negating every other private school in town and not even considering the public schools we are zoned for, God started putting moms that homeschool in my path, and I fought it every step of the way, until it was clear that this is what He has been preparing me for these last two and a half years as a stay at home mom. I’m also so thankful that He chose to answer my prayer to teach again in this most incredible way! So without further adieu, Weston will attend 3 year old kindergarten through first grade at Cumberland Furnace School.

  
I knew I didn’t want a room in my house to be our schoolroom, because we will both get up, get dressed, pack a lunch, take Bubba to school, then come home and go through the gate to the schoolhouse in the backyard. I want him to be prepared for the life lesson of waking up at a certain time, getting dressed, and the responsibility of being at school on time. My precious husband came up with the idea of converting a shed into a schoolhouse, and I fell in love with idea. The one pictured above may not look like much right now, but once we add window boxes, a school bell, run electrical, add insulation, Wainscoting for wall cover, and some furniture and lighting, the Cumberland Furnace School will be absolutely adorable! 

I’m extremely excited to share this renovation and homeschooling journey with you all. This week I began exploring different curriculum options as well as the different homeschool groups here in town. I love how the answer to every question we’ve had along the way has appeared directly in front of us. I’m so grateful for the support of my family and friends, and Weston is extremely excited to go to his new school. I know my grandfather would be so proud of our family, and he would have loved having another brilliant great grandson. Thank you for reading and come back next week for another exciting post!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

One thought on “He Equips the Called

  1. I have not been to your site in like FOREVER!! I enjoyed reading and catching up on your sweet, wonderful, blessed life. I am so proud of Banks. I subbed at HA a few weeks ago and saw him. He is so grown up and handsome. I appreciate him coming up to me and speaking. You would be surprised how former students hardly ever speak unless you make them speak to you first. I asked him about you. I am not all the way caught up but I read the last three or four posts. Keep on keeping on with what you are doing. God will continue to bless you.

Leave a Reply

