Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Thanksgiving in Action

Leave a comment

W. J. Cameron once said, “Thanksgiving, after all, is a word of action.” William Arthur Ward said, “Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.” What poignant thoughts, and this week, I fully intend on sharing with you all what I’m most thankful for. 

  

 
Last weekend was the last weekend that we will have free until the new year. Adam and I made sure the boys were busy and completely unaware of what we were doing. He and I set up our tent in the backyard. He built a fire in the firepit while I made sure everyone had an air mattress made up nice and warm since it was so cold outside. We told the boys to dress warmly, and we surprised them with a backyard camp out. It was so much fun!

  
Saturday, we continued the family fun with a real treat….a trip to the movies. Weston is completely obsessed with Charlie Brown, and since we own the Charlie Brown movie collection, we saw The Peanuts Movie. It was fantastic! It, of course, had a wonderful message of what true character is, and it was delightful as well as funny. We all loved it.

We enjoyed worshipping together Sunday morning at church. Although Adam had to work Sunday night, the boys and I enjoyed our church’s annual baked goods auction to benefit the youth group. It’s always a blessing to see people of all ages come together to support our teenagers.

  
Monday morning, my fine husband left for work with his head held a bit higher, and looking dang good if I do say so. His first day as the Assistant General Manager went very well, and the boys and I are so incredibly proud of him! 

  
Monday afternoon, I helped my dear friend Brittney prepare food at the Alabama College of Osteopathic Medicine for all of the medical students that wouldn’t be able to go home for Thanksgiving, and while we were serving, she asked me to bless the food. What an honor! I barely held back the tears as I thanked my God for these dedicated individuals, their sacrifices, and it made me so extremely thankful for my manclan and that I get to spend everyday, especially Thanksgiving Day, with them.

When you are thankful for someone or something, you show it. I know Adam’s love language is acts of service, and I strive each and every day to show him how thankful I am for him, and he does the same for me. We show our children that we love them by providing for them, supporting them, whether it be in school, athletics, their future, or even camping in the backyard followed by a movie. My husband and children will never question whether they are loved or if I’m thankful for them. That is how Thanksgiving is “an action word.” So, as we begin this week of Thanksgiving, let us not take for granted those that we treasure the most. 

To my amazing husband, I love you with everything I am. You are my best friend, my helpmate, my encourager, the father of my children, my back rubber, my pride, my joy, my lover, and the love of my life. I’m blessed to be your wife. I am thankful for you! 

To my Banks and my Weston, you are my miracles, my precious boys, representations of the good in me, my comedy, and you are the only ones that know what my heartbeat sounds like from the inside. I’m blessed to be your mom. I’m thankful for you both!

To all of my readers….Happy Thanksgiving and don’t forget to put Thanksgiving into action this week.

 

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

