Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Candles, Cantatas, and One Crazy Elf

Leave a comment

Another year has passed, and I’m officially 34. Age has never been a big deal to me. Life is what you make it, and I can’t wait to grow older! My day was spent absolutely alone, and it was WONDERFUL! I got my nails polished, went shopping, had lunch with girlfriends, and my sweet husband took me to dinner, and we finished up some shopping.  My boys were super sweet wishing me a happy birthday, and Weston couldn’t understand why I didn’t have any birthday cake or a party. Bless him!  

 Saturday was extremely busy with the entire family playing at least one role in our church’s Christmas Cantata. Adam and Banks played the role of shepherds coming to see baby Jesus. I sang with the choir, the ladies ensemble, and had a small speaking part as Cindy Johnson, the manager at the local Macy’s. Weston brought down the house with the role of child Jesus. The play required major dedication and many, many, many practices, but it was totally worth it to see a full sanctuary of people from our community.  

 Judy is still crazy as ever! I’m not really sure what we are going to do every night at 9:30 once Christmas is over, although I’m sure we will think of something.😉 

   She has written on the bathroom mirror with toothpaste, which is no easy task! I was worried about how difficult it would be to clean, but the toothpaste came right off with a damp paper towel, and the mirror shined right up after using window/glass cleaner. Judy has also hidden in the dog food container. This trick made for a very dramatic morning, because Weston couldn’t find her, and he burst into our room proclaiming that she had lost her magic and was gone forever!!!!!!! Thank goodness we found her!!!! I assure you the struggle was real! 
   
  Amidst the unharacteristically warm weather we’ve been experiencing, Judy was forced to make M&M Angels. Snow is rarely an option down in South Alabama, so she better start liking M&M’s. Sunday night, she was hungry when she got back from the North Pole, and we caught her cooking some breakfast Monday morning. Weston loves to play kitchen and pretended to eat whatever was in the pan. I’m certain that he’s made the nice list! 
   

Ok, so Monday night was an absolute last minute thrown together idea of simply hanging her upside down from the kitchen cabinets. Tuesday night, Judy got a bit more creative and finally sat on Santa’s lap to tell him what she wants for Christmas. Judy’s a pretty great elf, and she has brought many laughs and much joy to our family, so I’m certain that she will join Weston and Banks on the nice list. 

Beginning tomorrow, we have five straight days of Christmas parties to attend, and Monday begins a week filled with laughter, family time, baking, Christmas movies, late night toy assembly by flashlight in our shed, and most importantly, the celebration of the birth of our Savior. I absolutely cannot wait! I love Christmas more than anyone, and I’m so excited to share it with a manclan that I love so much!  
I hope you all have an amazing week and find a way to enjoy every Christmas carol, baked good, Christmas greeting, and Message of Good News! It really is the most wonderful time of the year!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

