Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

New Year, New Dreams

Leave a comment

Happy New Year to all my readers!!!! I hope 2016 has had as joyful a beginning for you all as it has for my manclan and me.

  Banks returned home from a trip to North Carolina with our church youth group on New Year’s Eve. Although they weren’t able to snow ski, they had a phenomenal time of bonding with one another and God at Snowbird Wilderness Outfitters . They did get to enjoy white water rafting, paintball, hiking, a bungee swing, a zipline, and many other activities. 
  He got home just in time to the Crimson Tide dominate the Michigan State Spartans! A HUGE ROLL TIDE to that!!!! We are so pumped for the National Championship against Clemson this weekend! As Weston would say, “Roll Tide Baby!” 
  Following the game, we watched the ball drop in New York City as well as the local Beach Ball Drop at Pier Park in Panama City Beach. I love toasting and smooching with my husband! Every new year with him gets better and better. We didn’t set any resolutions this year, but we are planning and saving for a couple of family vacations. We are taking the boys to Nashville for spring break. When we asked Banks where he wanted to go, he said, “Nashville to the Country Music Hall of Fame.” It also presents an exceptional opportunity to take the boys to Charlotte, Tn as well as Cumberland Furnace, Tn to visit the graves of my Mama Story and my ‘Ol Dad. We also hope to spend some time with my Aunt Sandra while enjoying all that Nashville has to offer. We are also planning a trip for this summer to Washington D.C. Basically, when we reach the end of 2016, we hope to have made some amazing memories with one another.

 New Years Day was spent relaxing at home with a house full of boys…more than the usual 3. Banks had a couple of friends over to spend the night, and they ate two and three plates full of the traditional New Years Meal that I cooked. Our home is always open to company, and having a house full of our friends is always a great way to begin a new year!  

 Banks went back to school yesterday, and baseball tryouts have begun. Baseball season is my favorite season, and I love watching my baby play a sport that he loves! This is Banks’ 9th year playing baseball. It seems like just yesterday that he was playing 4 year old ball, and while the other players were pretending to be helicopters on the field, he was focused and actually catching balls and making plays. He’s amazing!

I pray you all have a great 2016, and I pray that you are able and willing to challenge yourselves to become better humans in some way or another this year.

 Next week I will be giving you a book recommendation, and I can’t wait to share my thoughts with you about this book and its author, whom I’m completely obsessed with! Have an awesome week and ROLL TIDE!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

