Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Keep Dreaming 

2 Comments

Did you follow your dreams? Do you even have a dream? Do you think you’re too old to pursue your dreams? Do you think you’re too poor to follow your dreams? Have you even ever had a longing to pursue or to be something so badly that you’ve said either to yourself or out loud, “That’s my dream __________.” The blank could be filled in with nouns such as: job, home, car, man, woman, vacation, etc… Being able to see that dream come to fruition truly makes you feel like “a real somebody.” 

  Ever since the movie Coat of Many Colors aired on NBC, I’ve been completely obsessed with Dolly Parton. I want to meet her and talk to her! Now to many of my friends, it has seemed really strange, but she and I have a lot in common, and I admire her so much for being so incredibly real, clearly I’m referring to what’s on the inside. HA! If you haven’t seen the movie, you should make it a priority, and here’s a little free advice…grab some Kleenex! 
 My mom always  buys each one of us a book as one of our Christmas presents, and she always writes the sweetest note on the inside cover. This year, she asked me what kind of book I wanted, and I told her a book written by Dolly Parton. Well, she bought me Dream More, and it was so fabulous that I read it in one day!  

 God used this book and Dolly to show me that it’s ok to have dreams. It’s ok to be a goal-oriented person. It’s ok to be so in love with your dreams that you’re not going to let anything or anyone stop you, make you feel silly or strange for believing that they will come true! 

 I’ve always been a goal-oriented person. Heck, if I weren’t, Banks and I would have been better off to have lied down in a ditch and die. I set goals on a daily basis, and I absolutely cannot lay my head down until they’re accomplished. Some say that makes me OCD. I say, I’m focused. I come from a long line of hard workers, and I agree with Dolly, I would rather wear out than rust out. At least when you wear out, you have something to show for it. You will never reach your goals or dreams by just sitting and waiting on something to happen. Light a fire under your tail and work for it!  

 Now you can’t work for the prize without energy. I’ve been criticized by people for being too goal-oriented and for never sitting down. Now I know…they’re just unhappy people. I work from the time my feet hit the floor in the morning until I go to bed at night. I’ve always been that way. The things I’m busy doing most people would despise, but it makes me happy to keep a clean home for my manclan, and it makes me happy to cook for others, and I’m thrilled to pieces to drive to work 3-4 days every week! Why, because I’m being a blessing to those I love, and my dream has always been to be a wife, mother, and caretaker.

 With goal-reaching comes failures. Just like Dolly, thank God for them! You can’t learn and become better without failures. When I fail, I give myself the worst beat down you’ve ever seen. I can’t stand to disappoint anyone, even if it’s just myself. I always replay things in my head to figure out what I could have done differently, and when the situation arises again, and it will, I do my very best to never make the same mistake twice. Friend, don’t beat yourself up, thank God for your failure, change, and keep pressing on toward your dream! 

 While I can’t write a blog long enough to go over everything I highlighted in this book, I hope this little paragraph that Dolly wrote means as much to you as it did to me. Follow your dreams! Don’t give up! Be kind to EVERYONE, even when they don’t deserve it. They’re probably just unhappy with themselves. Pray God will send them some energy to get up and chase their own dreams. In doing these things, you will be a better you than you ever dreamed you could be. You’ll be “a real somebody.”

Thanks to my wonderful mother for buying me this book and for believing in this little blogging dream of mine. Thank you to both of my parents, grandparents, and great grandparents for instilling in me a strong work ethic. Thank you to my amazing husband for being my dream man and fulfilling my dream of by making me your wife. Thank you to my Banks and my Weston for fulfilling my dream by being your mother. Thank you, Dolly, for sharing your stories and being such an inspiration to me, and most importantly, thank you, God, for allowing me to fail daily and learn from my failures and for making me just the way I am!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

2 thoughts on “Keep Dreaming 

  1. Thanks, Jessica. I love it! You inspire me. Love, Aunt Starr

Leave a Reply

