Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

All You Need is Love

Leave a comment

In the words of the Beatles, “All You Need is Love.” How true that is. It’s amazing how one thoughtful gesture, a kind word, or simply being in the same room with people you love can change your entire day. February 14, 2016, was an absolutely wonderful day. Sure, there are those who dislike Valentine’s Day, but truthfully, that’s a problem within themselves that keeps them from celebrating an entire day dedicated to love. Heck, love is the entire reason for our existence. We were created by a loving God to share His love to ALL people. 

  In true Adam Nichols fashion, he surprised me with my most favorite things…..fresh-cut roses and green tea. I drink a cup of hot, green tea every morning, and I try to always keep fresh-cut flowers in my living room all year. They just make the room brighter, and they help set an atmosphere in your home. I love that he showers me with the little things that mean so much to me.😘 I gave Adam a shirt from his favorite clothing store, S Brannon Clothing, and it was even orange and blue! Now, that’s true love! HA! I know receiving clothes is not what most men like, but due to the few times Adam has received high-quality, new clothing in his life, he has made it known that this is one of his most favorite gifts to receive.

    
 My smokin  hot hubby wore his new shirt, and I got all dolled up for our Sunday school class’ annual Valentine’s Day dinner. Our buddies, Brittney and Jonathan, hosted the event again this year. It is always the best social of the entire year. Everyone brings a side dish or dessert, and Brittney and Jonathan provide the meat, and we have the most amazing meal with lights dimmed and 90’s love songs softly playing in the background (Boyz II Men and Keith Sweat are sure to get you in the mood for mommy-daddy time when you get home)😂👍🏻😍. We always end the night with an ever-interesting Newlywed Game! It is absolutely hilarious, and we learn more about our Sunday school family than imaginable! 

    
    
 Ashley, my sister, aka, the best aunt in the entire world, babysat Weston for us THE ENTIRE NIGHT!!!! She took him to the park, the food court, and 7 rounds on the carousel. 🎠 He got to lie in her bed and drink juice boxes and eat cookies, and on Sunday morning, he enjoyed cinnamon rolls in bed before getting ready for church. Ashley always spent time like this with Banks when he was little, and she was so excited to be able to start this tradition with Weston. This act of love showed love to not only Weston but also to Adam and myself. Both Banks and Weston adore their Aunt Ash, and it’s not hard to see why. She’s invested in their lives and makes them a priority. We are blessed to have her. 

 Banks spent the weekend with his youth group at the Lift Tour. He heard some great speakers over the weekend, and he thoroughly enjoyed the contemporary worship with thousands of youth from the Dothan/Wiregrass area. I’m so thankful that he wasn’t bogged down in the superficial love that so many teenagers fall victim to, but yet he was experiencing the most wonderful love of all….God’s love for His children. 

I am so incredibly thankful for the love my husband has for me and I have for him, the love we have for our children, the love our family members have for us and our boys, the love found in the wonderful friendships of our Sunday school class, and most importantly, the love our Savior shows to us daily through His grace, mercy, and kindness. All you need is love to make a difference.❤️

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

