Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Taste for Truth- Boundaries

Leave a comment

Well, week one of Taste for Truth was a success! I lost 2.1 pounds, and I only ate terrible one day. Public Service Announcement: stay far far away from Gigi’s Cupcakes! I had no idea until I returned home from a wedding shower and was inputting my food into My Fitness Pal app that one of their cupcakes has 780 calories😳!!!!! 

There were six of us ladies at Bible study this week, and we shared our victories from the week as well as our struggles. I just love having precious friends to share this journey with. The encouraging texts, phone calls, and emails throughout the week make this journey so much easier.

  This week we talked about setting boundaries. Have you ever said, “I will start _________ tomorrow.”? Well, I know that I have, and somehow, tomorrow never comes. That’s because I don’t give myself boundaries. We are mandated boundaries by the government, our workplace, law enforcement, medicine, and we even give boundaries to our children, yet we refuse to set boundaries when it comes to food. We eat what we want rather than what we need. This isn’t good! We only need a certain number of calories each day, but when you’ve never had a Gigi’s cupcake, you eat it because you want it, not because you NEED it! Proverbs 25:16 instructs us to only eat what we need. How do we abstain from these temptations? Well, Romans 13:14, tells us to “put on Jesus Christ and make no provision for the lust of the flesh.” Don’t even entertain it! Don’t make excuses as to why you should eat the cupcake! If we daily put Jesus Christ on as an armor, we can set the boundaries when it comes to temptations and eating what we want rather than what we need.
  How is gluttony any different than being an alcoholic or a drug addict? Honestly, it’s not! An addiction to food or sodas is absolutely no different. Addiction is addiction! They are all harmful to our bodies, and they are all sin. This part of the chapter had me doing some major self-examination followed by repentance. We wrap being overweight up in a pretty little box with a pretty little bow, yet we cast judgement upon alcoholics, drug addicts, and addicts of any other kind. This is wrong. Their sin is no worse than mine. Their struggle is just as real and just as dangerous as my own. The Lord gave us this warning in Proverbs 23:20-21. He shows us that gluttony and heavy drinking are both exactly the same. They are both EXCESS! You become an addict, of any kind, because you don’t set boundaries. 
Boundaries aren’t fun, but they are essential in order to do what’s right and see results. Know your boundaries and stay within them for a healthy life. 

We will continue our food diaries this week, and we will praying for ourselves and one another to continue to practice self-control and to set and stay within the boundaries we set for ourselves. My personal goal this week is to exercise at least 3 days, and although we have three baseball games to attend this week, I want to pack our supper so we don’t eat ballpark food. It kills my stomach, and it’s so unhealthy. This week’s lesson was tough, and quite enlightening. I’m looking forward to more progress and spiritual growth this week as I personally put on Jesus Christ and give no provision for the lusts of the flesh.

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

