Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Taste for Truth-Spiritual Battles

Leave a comment

Well, we have reached week 7 of our Taste for Truth study, and I can honestly say it has been life-changing. As we approach the final week of our study, we had a great discussion about how God has changed us in these last 7 weeks. Overall, we had more spiritual changes than physical changes, but that tells me that we were successful because change begins on the inside. We are all so thankful for the weight that we have lost and the healthy choices we are now consistently making, but the thriving friendships and the spiritual changes are priceless.

   
 Now that we know how to fight the physical battle of making healthy choices, we need to look at the spiritual battle. Spiritual health is far more valuable than physical health. This study shows that only two tools are needed for a Christian to fight a spiritual battle, and those are prayer and the Word of God. 

Prayer allows us to be completely reliant on the Lord, and because of Jesus’ sacrifice, we have this direct line of communication. The book hit on an excellent point that I’ve never really thought about, and that is to pray with Scripture. When the Word of God leaves our mouth and falls on the ears of the Lord, He is glorified. His Word is Truth, and when we pray using Scripture, we are praying with confidence.

In Sunday school, we looked at the subject, “That’s Who My God Is.” My God formed us with His own two hands. My God parted the Red Sea and led millions of Hebrew slaves out of captivity. My God turned dry bones to flesh. My God sent His only Son to die for me, and when my God is that great, how can I not trust Him with my physical and spiritual health. 

We are reminded in Ephesians that our battle is not with flesh and blood. So, as we make healthy choices for our physicality, don’t lose sight of the spiritual battle that requires everyday reliance on God to overcome. While physical health may render a nice, well-toned body, spiritual health ensures the promise of an eternity with our great God! So, enter everyday armed with prayer and the Word.

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

