Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Taste for Truth- The Journey of Weight Loss

Leave a comment

Well, as we completed the eighth and final week of Taste for Truth, we all shared our victories. Not one person mentioned how much weight they had lost as their greatest victory. Each participant was more grateful for the spiritual victories throughout these eight weeks. Praise the Lord! Among the four of us that finished the race, we lost a combined total of nearly 45 pounds. We have vowed to take a ladies trip to celebrate and continue to nurture this bond we have as friends. This study has also encouraged us to continue meeting on Sunday afternoons for a new Bible study beginning next week. Overall, God has done amazing things through this group of sinners that just long to do what is right.

In order to live in victory now that the study is over, we must consistently refer back to weeks one and two. We must pray for self-control, and we must continue to set boundaries for ourselves. We spoke a few weeks ago about failures, and we will have times where we break the boundaries, but we must not give up! Persevere through your future failures rather than allowing them to control your journey. If you give up on your boundaries, you’re only giving up on yourself! Continue to go to God for help during the hard times.
One of the greatest victories shared was that of peace. We all agreed that for the first time in our lives we are at peace with the weight loss process. That’s because, as a Believer, one of the fruits of the Spirit is peace. Our peace comes through Him because we now see ourselves as He sees us. As we continue to trust Him throughout the remainder of our journey, we see in Isaiah 26:3 that we have that perfect peace that only He can give by trusting in Him. 

As we continue to nurture our relationship with Jesus, the study encouraged us to pray with Thanksgiving. It’s an important part of our journey because if we fail to give Him the glory on a daily basis for the small victories, we have done this entire program in vain. Prayers of Thanksgiving are powerful! They rise up out of a person that has an intimate relationship with God, and they travel directly from our hearts and mouths to His ears. In Ephesians chapter 5, we are commanded to thank Him in ALL things! When your heart is grateful and full of Thanksgiving, you don’t have time to be anxious. Thanksgiving is the opposite of anxiety. That’s why He tells us to give thanks in ALL things and to be anxious about nothing. He always shows us the right path to take. It’s our own choice as to what we choose.

For me personally, I have a long road ahead of me to get the physical results I long for, but I’m so extremely grateful for a God that loves me and has equipped me with the tools I need to complete this journey. I’m also humbled and beyond blessed with an amazing group of friends that love and encourage me. I would not have completed this study or dropped a size in clothes or lost 11 pounds if it weren’t for them holding me accountable. I will continue to write about my progress from time to time, but beginning next week, I will go back to writing about all the AWESOME things God is doing with my precious little family. Thank you all for reading about my journey these past 8 weeks. I pray that other lives were impacted through the opportunity God gave me to lead this study.

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

