Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Growing, Growing, and Gone

2 Comments

I remember Banks’ very first day of Kindergarten. He wouldn’t let me walk in with him. He’s always been very independent. (I wonder where he gets that from????). As I sat through his eighth grade academic awards, the realization hit me that next Thursday at noon, my oldest child will be in high school! 

He’s such a Godly, intelligent, athletic, and handsome young man. He respects others, and he still gives me hugs and tells me that he loves me. He’s kind-hearted, and he is hilariously witty! A few Sundays ago, I was praying at the altar, and he came down, put his arm around me, and prayed with me. I’m so excited for his future, and I’m so incredibly proud of my Banks. 

There are no participation trophies handed out at Houston Academy. (Thank Goodness!) Only the parents whose children are receiving academic recognition are invited to awards day. When the invitation comes in the mail, you are automatically filled with admiration for your child. They don’t recognize honor roll students, because, honestly, it’s expected at HA. Banks was recognized for maintaining a 3.5 or higher GPA through both 7th and 8th grade, and he was recognized for his outstanding performance on the National Latin Exam. He finished in the 90th percentile.
Needless to say, Adam and I were beyond proud. He achieved all of this while also playing two sports, working out every afternoon, being active in his youth group, and even working on the weekends this spring. Being intelligent is definitely a gift, but to be both intelligent and well-rounded, WOW!

Now, I realize that this seems like a sappy mom who thinks her child is better than everyone else’s child, but no one sees Banks from my perspective. He and I were all one another had for a long time, and we’ve been through A LOT together. He’s just a beautiful miracle. I’m in awe of how God used me to produce such greatness. Adam and I are extremely blessed to be his parents. 

Of course, we feel the exact same way about Weston, and I look forward to this time next year when I’m writing about how much he learned in preschool at Houston Academy, but today, I just felt the need to brag on Banks.
Like Weston, Banks once held my hand and depended on me to bathe and dress him, but he’s grown now. He’s taller than me. He has a chiseled physique, and all the baby fat is gone. He’s very concerned with his appearance and how he smells and what he wears. The realization that he will be gone in a few short years makes my eyes fill up with tears. The tears aren’t because I’m sad. They are tears of pride, because I know that he’s going to be just fine, and I know that no matter how much bigger he gets, he will never be too big to hug his mommy.💗

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

2 thoughts on “Growing, Growing, and Gone

  1. My eyes filled with tears reading this. So beautifully written, Jessica. Banks truly is a wonderful gift to our family. We are blessed to have a small part in the raising of him. You my daughter are to be praised.

    • Thanks, to you and daddy for loving me when I had disappointed you so greatly. You both taught me how to love, encourage, and support my children. You guys are the best TG and Pops in the world!

Leave a Reply

