Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

He’s My Favorite Thing About Everyday

Leave a comment

I know, I know, I am over a week late with my post. I’m sorry to those who actually look forward to reading my blog each week. Between the end of school, work, and my house being overtaken by VBS decorations, I haven’t had much time for anything else. We did make time to celebrate our fifth wedding anniversary on May 28. We had a wonderful day, but we have an even more wonderful life together. Everyday with Adam is a gift!

We began the day with a DIY project. I mean, is it really a weekend at the Nichols house without a project????? We (mostly Adam) made a headboard for Weston’s bed out of old pallets. This was such a great, easy project that cost us $0! BOOM! *Attention locals: Eagle Eye Outfitters will allow you to haul off as many pallets as you want at no charge.*


We went to dinner at our favorite little Mexican restaurant, Hacienda Azul. As we dined, we talked about all the Lord had brought us through in our 5 years of marriage and all the blessings we’ve been given as well as the excruciatingly difficult times that we’ve endured. 


There was a time in our marriage when Adam was making very little money, we had a newborn and a 10 year old, and I got laid off from my job. Times were tough, like crying and praying everyday tough. In order to feed our boys and keep a roof above our head, I sold every piece of real jewelry I owned, except my wedding rings. I would have sold those too, but Adam wouldn’t let me. Times were tough, but we made it through together. Thankfully, we are in a much better place now, and God has been faithful! My precious husband surprised (I mean really surprised) me with the most beautiful ruby and diamond earrings. He always reminds me that I’m “worth far more than rubies.” He also knows I cherish them because they are Banks’ birthstone. I was just absolutely stunned! The gift is not what makes me feel loved. While I adore the beautiful token of his love for me, it’s the fact that every single day, he knows my worth as a wife and mother. That is love!

I have known Adam Nichols for ten years, and for as long as I’ve known him, he’s been asking for a solar-powered, leather banded wristwatch that only has the time and date on the face. He has no interest in a chronograph or any of that jazz. Well, I’ve searched religiously for the past 5 years, and they were always out of my budget. Well, my search finally came to end. I found the watch he had longed for, and it was within my budget! He was so overjoyed and excited! He has worn it everyday since he got it. He deserves the finest of watches! I pray that every time he looks down at it, he knows that there’s not one second that passes that I don’t love and adore him. ❤️

Marriage is certainly not for the weak. It’s definitely more than a ceremony in a fancy dress and a party. It’s work! It’s fun! It’s hard! It’s rewarding! Most importantly, for Christians, it’s a covenant with God. The covenant I made with God and Adam is so important to me! I realize that five years isn’t very long compared to an eternity with my love, but I’m so thankful that I get to do this thing called life with Adam Nichols! I could never fully depict his worth in a blog post. He’s truly my favorite thing about everyday.

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

