Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Submerged

Leave a comment

WOW! What a week! It was VBS week at church, and between working all day and teaching the 5th and 6th grade group of kids, I am still exhausted! It was a truly amazing week though. I absolutely love 5th and 6th grade! This was my third year teaching this age group, and they always bless me. I had been praying for months that God would send plenty of kids to VBS, and He certainly did not disappoint! This was our largest group of kids in years! I had more than double the number of kids than I had last year.


Decorating my classroom is always one of my most favorite parts of the week. My classroom had a giant octopus as the centerpiece with blue tablecloths draped across the ceiling for that “submerged” feeling. I made jelly fish from plastic cups and ribbon, and I even found the cutest inflatable turtles at the Dollar Tree. Although the decorations were wonderful, the most exciting part of VBS this year was, without a doubt, the kids in my class.


These kids were so awesome, and they were extremely respectful and well-behaved all week. They enjoyed all the games, had killer dance moves, and always answered any questions I asked about the previous day’s lesson. As if they weren’t great enough, I had two young ladies ask Jesus to be their Savior!!!!!! It was quite possibly the most amazing night of VBS I’ve ever experienced, and I’ve been to many nights of VBS! We even had some kids out of my class come to our house and hang out with the youth group on Saturday night, and they were at church on Sunday. God is just so great! I just know that He’s getting ready to do amazing things at Southside Baptist Church through children, youth, and young people, and I simply feel humble and blessed to be a part of it. 

Please join me in praying for these precious girls to be discipled further following their decision to follow Jesus. Pray also for my church. It’s the greatest church in the world, in my opinion, and I just can’t wait to see what God has in store for us!

Next week my post will be dedicated to the love of my life and my daddy as we spend the weekend celebrating Adam’s birthday and Father’s Day. Thanks for reading and have a great week.

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a wife, mother, daughter, and friend. I love Jesus, my family, my friends, and my life. I enjoy writing, yoga, laughing, and spending time with my manclan. I’m merely striving to be the best version of myself.

Leave a comment