Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Happiest of Birthdays and Happy Father’s Day

Leave a comment

On June 17, 1983, God chose to grace the world with the presence of Adam Nichols. I believe the world is a better place with him in it. He’s kind, generous, hard-working, patient, extremely wise, and he loves big. So, how do you celebrate such an amazing man???? Well, the humble man that he is, he asked for a simple steak dinner at home with his wife and children and his buddy Mark and his family. 

After working until nearly 8pm Friday night, Adam came home to a grilled steak, mashed potatoes, fresh field peas, and a homemade caramel cake(his favorite). You know you love your husband when you grill steaks in an absolute downpour of rain. I was drenched to the bone, but as long as my love was happy, it was worth it! Our friend, Christy Whatley made the most delicious caramel cake! I tried a few years ago to make a homemade caramel cake for Adam, and it was a flop. I was thankful to have such a sweet friend with such great talent. Mark and Amber’s daughter, Ava, has a beautiful voice and is extremely talented. So, she led us in singing “Happy Birthday.”

No birthday is complete without treasures! Adam opened most of his gifts and cards on Thursday evening. Although “receiving gifts” is not one of Adam’s primary love languages, I always enjoy watching the joy and love that he feels when he opens his birthday gifts. He studies each one so carefully, which always shows his appreciation. As we went to bed Friday night, he told me that it was one of his best birthdays yet, and for that, I am thankful!

Today is Father’s Day, and Banks and Weston couldn’t wait to shower their daddy with love! As you all know, Adam is extremely talented in carpentry and home repairs, and once I heard him mention he would like to have a DeWalt Drill Driver, I knew he had to have it. His favorite candy is soft peppermint, so when Banks and I found this large tub of mints, we knew it was the perfect gift for daddy. We spent the morning with the greatest church family on the planet, and enjoyed lunch at our favorite little Mexican restaurant, followed by a relaxing afternoon at home enjoying one another’s company.

I can’t write a Father’s Day blog without mentioning my amazing daddy. He’s the rock of our family. He’s quiet, patient, kind, generous, caring, hard-working, and loving. He cares for every member of our family equally and would cross the highest mountain to make sure his family knows they are loved. I’m so thankful for how this man loves me and my little family. I admire him so much, and I’m so thankful that God chose a man much like my daddy for me to marry.

One simple blog post can never adequately express the love I have for my husband and my daddy, however, a tribute to them is the very least I can do. I am so incredibly blessed to have a Heavenly Father that loves me and sees what others choose not to see, an earthly father that has instilled in me how to love God, love my family, and love others, and a husband that I admire more with each passing day for seeing me as God sees me and for loving me, despite my imperfections, and loves our children so beautifully. I’m truly the luckiest girl in the world!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

