Dugouts and Diapers

Jessica Starr Nichols

Wisdom Gone Wild

Leave a comment

Last weekend I left my manclan at home to go off by myself for the first time since I left my parents’ home for college, which was sixteen years ago. A group of ladies from our church traveled to Mobile, Alabama to hear Beth Moore.


There were approximately 9,000 people, mostly women, gathered in The Mitchell Center on the campus of The University of South AlabamaTravis Cottrell led worship, and it was absolutely phenomenal! I was about  two seconds from abandoning my Baptist roots and becoming Pentecostal when we sang Break Every Chain. I love that song!


There were ladies from college to retirement age that went with us, and I was so thankful to get to know some of these precious souls better. Beth Moore spoke out of Proverbs concerning Wisdom vs Folly. She defined wisdom as, “skilled living from treasure hunting.” Metaphorically speaking, she described wisdom and folly as a crossroads, and sometimes they both look very similar, but she gave us seven points to distinguish one from the other.

1. Wisdom turns on its ear. Wisdom listens. It does not always have something to say.

2. Wisdom is awhirl with wonder.

3. Wisdom exists to engage.

4. Wisdom prizes insight over ego.

5. Wisdom sees through seduction.

6. Wisdom knows folly can kill you.

7. Wisdom can tell what time it is. He is a God of perfect timing.

It was quite interesting to see the distinction between the two, and as I recollected to certain times in my life when I was at the crossroads of wisdom or folly, it is interesting to see that as I have grown closer in my relationship with God, I have nearly always chosen wisdom. I am learning to be quiet, listen, wait on His timing, be willing to learn, and to make sure folly does not slip in that one spot that my armor does not cover. Just as my main man James says in James 1:5-8, “ask God for wisdom.” He also instructs us to ask in faith. I pray for wisdom daily for me, my husband, my children, family members, and friends. So, if you are consistently at the crossroads of wisdom and folly, and your are generally choosing folly, I urge you pray in faith for wisdom. It is just another free gift from our loving Savior.


While the conference was good, the fellowship with my sisters in Christ was amazing. I love my church family, and I am so thankful that the Lord gave me such incredible Christian friends. I cannot wait for our next adventure together!

Author: jstarrnichols

I'm a stay at home mom that daily strives to be a Proverbs 31 woman to my husband and children.

Leave a Reply

